Home > Family > Thanksgiving 2009

Thanksgiving 2009

I think this was one of the best Thanksgivings ever.  I had a wonderful time cooking.  I must admit that I threw down some culinary skills this year.  I think I out did myself, if I do say so myself.  🙂

First of all I could not sleep so I woke at 2:30 a.m.  Played on the computer and wrote a post and about 4:00 a.m. I started cooking.  Started out baking a couple loaves of bread.  My DH probably thought the bread maker was broken.  He loves fresh bread and rags me if I don’t make him some.  I can always keep him quiet if I put some food in his mouth.

tropical carrot cake with coconut cream cheese frosting

Tropical Carrot Cake with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

I baked him an apple pie without sugar, which he ate for breakfast.  I think I like it better than any other apple pie I’ve eaten.  It was tart.  I always think that apple pie is too

sweet.   I would imagine that I’ll get a request to make him one again.

The baked double cheese and macaroni was the rave.  Sorry no pictures because by the time I would have had a chance, it was not picturesque.  It was tore up.  But I am keeping that recipe.  I’ll add that to one of the sides for Christmas this year I would bet.

But the prize was the Tropical Carrot Cake with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting.  It is a triple carrot cake with pineapple and macadamia nuts, crystallized ginger and coconut.  It was super rich and I would suggest small slivers.  I am so full hours after the meal and I am tempted to grab me another peice before getting to bed.

DS and lovely girlfriend

Oldest and lovely girlfriend

This year we not only celebrated with all the DS but we also had a guest.  The oldest has been dating a lovely gal for nearly a year now.  She fit in quite well.   I hope she comes back next year.

The youngest is leaving tomorrow headed on a three week road trip to California.  I’m cool with it.

I am just glad to have them all here this year.  It was last year that youngest was in Iraq for Christmas. Which makes me so grateful to have the family together.  I pray for the others that are serving over seas and their families.  I pray that they will be back home soon with their own families.

As for now I hope to get to bed early since I’ve been up since 2:30 a.m.  Tomorrow I have an appointment and I’m back to work again.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

