Home > Family > Cut the Cord

Cut the Cord

Maybe I should cut the cord but I am having a difficult time making the final

Old School Rotary Phone

Old School Rotary Phone

decision.  My home phone is a big, green 1970 rotary dinosaur that sometimes rings and sometime doesn’t.  If it doesn’t ring I have another phone that does ring on the other side of the house and you can hear that one so as to signal you to pick up the phone.  When it does decide to ring it’s real bells housed beneath  sound like a four alarm fire.

Important information is seldom carried through those telephone lines.  It is more a conversation piece itself.  Nearly everyone that comes in the kitchen remarks how cool it is.

So is that a good enough reason to keep it?

We all have cell phones.  I call it an electronic leash.  This is where most important information is transmitted.

When the old phone rings it is more likely a telemarketer or a wrong number.

With cell phones in our pockets the Old Phone remains idle a lot.  I could save a few dollars and in this economic climate it may be a good idea to let go of the land line.  I know more people are doing that these days.

So why am I have difficulty letting go?  Nostalgia mostly.

The Old Phone reminds me of a simpler lifestyle.  Today when the Old Phone rings I am sometimes if only for a split second 35 years younger and wondering if it is something important or if it is for me.

It makes me feel good.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
  1. May 11, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    We just let go of our home phone after buying the girls each a cell phone. My need for nostalgia was satisfied by being able to nab them precious 304 area codes – new numbers will have a new area code, one that doesn’t sound like WV to me.

  2. May 16, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    My father owned a Real Estate company when I was just a wee little RealtyMan (so we had multiple lines in the house). I have a picture where there are 3 Yellow phones just like it all side-by-side in our kitchen.

  3. May 16, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    No land line for us. Used our land line number for a family share line – 9.99/month on verizon. saves us over $60 per month.

  4. May 16, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    I let mine go…. but how do you keep that cord in working order…. the last phone like this I had – well the cord was so stretched and twisted it kept shorting out…

  5. May 16, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Wow! I would love to see that picture Gerry!

    Thesa you are not going to believe this but the cord is a replacement. I fixed it when it quit working, couldn’t throw the phone away.

  6. May 17, 2009 at 12:00 am

    You said, “It makes me feel good.”

    Then keep it. There aren’t that many things in life that make us feel good.

    Besides, it *is* cool…

  7. May 17, 2009 at 1:40 am

    I am going to keep it Jay. Seems kinda hypocritical to be “wireless” otherwise in every other sense & still have this retro side but that is me & I like it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

